Another Must-Read Biography: ‘Wild Swans’ by Jung Chang (1991)

imgres-5

I first tried reading ‘Wild Swans’ many years ago.  I distinctly remember making it through a description of Jung Chang’s grandmother’s bound and rotting feet (in chapter 1: ‘Three-inch Golden Lillies’).  I stopped reading in the section where the narrator’s mother sees her class-mate mutilated when their school is conscripted to work in a textile factory.  I think I had been told that this was an important book in the feminist canon, without anyone warning me of quite how hard it was to survive as a woman during the decades chronicled.

Now, I’m older, more accustomed to reading about harsh truths in literature and absolutely determined to complete my 2016 non-fiction reading project.  Making a good start to July, I have succeeding in finally completing ‘Wild Swans’; at last I’m fully qualified to join the ranks of those who love it.

If, like me, you get much of your general knowledge from literature, ‘Wild Swans’ is a must-read for understanding 20th century Chinese history.  Although it does not shy away from the horrors (and the biographical focus makes these stories all the more personal and disturbing), it also celebrates the narrator’s family and heritage.  While the grandmother may be forced to hobble rather than walk with pride, she also finds love and proves herself to be a surviver in her restrictively patriarchal world.  Chang’s parents were both high ranking officials in the Communist party, proving their commitment through physical and emotional suffering, but also showing determined humanity and loyalty in the face of systematic persecution.  Finally, Chang herself presents an incredible contrast to the life story of any UK child of the ’50s.  Whether going on a pilgrimage to catch a glimpse of Chairman Mao, working as a teenage ‘barefoot doctor’ or trying to visit her parents in different prison camps, she is a human and sympathetic guide to a bewildering period of history.

‘Wild Swans’ is every bit as enthralling as its enduring reputation suggests.  According to Wikipedia it’s sold over 13 million copies worldwide, all I can say is that I hope every one of those books was read and then re-read.  It may have taken me some time, but I couldn’t have found a better introduction to recent Chinese history, or a better narrator to explain it to me.  Highly, highly recommended.

This entry was posted in Biography, Jung Chang and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Another Must-Read Biography: ‘Wild Swans’ by Jung Chang (1991)

  1. Pingback: Inspired by Diverse December: an A-Z of BAEM authors for 2016 | Shoshi's Book Blog

  2. I read this in the early 90s and still have my copy, but I haven’t read it since – you’ve reminded me how incredibly powerful it is. Time for a re-read!

    • It’s the kind of book you have to keep because at some point it will need to be re-read. It’ll be interesting to see which bits are as you recalled, and which new sections now grab you.

  3. I read this a long time ago and thought it was a wonderful, eye-opening book – still powerful now too. Thanks for reminding me of it!

  4. Sarah says:

    Me too! It’s been a very long time since I read this, and while I remember that it blew my mind at the time, decades have since passed, and I’ve forgotten more than enough to make this worthy of a reread. If I needed any persuading, your review has definitely done the trick! 🙂

  5. sylviemarieheroux says:

    I read this 10-15 years ago and found it absolutely fascinating. I would certainly recommend it to anyone interested in social change in 20th century China and its impact on people.

    • I’ve never read a history book of the period, and now I feel I know more than ten such books could have taught me. It brings the period to life wonderfully, while also giving enough historical background that the personal accounts are grounded in the bigger social picture.

  6. Yes! I found this book fascinating when I read it. It was at a time when I read lots of books about Chinese history, both fiction and non-fiction, and this one definitely stood out.

  7. BookerTalk says:

    I can remember being so angry when I read this book and got to the parts where people were giving up all their pots and pans for the war effort, and then were made to pull up every blade of grass – for no apparent reason. This is a must read book for me.

  8. Pingback: Reading out of my comfort zone part II: Life Writings | Shoshi's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: A Harrowing Memoir of the Rwandan Genocide: ‘Cockroaches’ by Scholastique Mukasonga | Shoshi's Book Blog

  10. Pingback: A real-life Zweig novella: ‘The Tongue Set Free’ by Elias Canetti | Shoshi's Book Blog

  11. Pingback: The Best of 2016! | Shoshi's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

