A Californian Classic: ‘The Crying of Lot 49’ by Thomas Pynchon (1966)

images

Nothing was happening. She looked down a slope, needing to squint for the sunlight, onto a vast sprawl of houses which had grown up altogether, like a well-tended crop, from the dull brown earth; and she thought of the time she’d opened a transistor radio to replace a battery and seen her first printed circuit … Though she knew even less about radios than about Southern Californians, there were to both outward pattern a hieroglyphic sense of concealed meaning, of an intent to communicate. There’d seemed no limit to what the printed circuit could have told her (if she’d tried to find out); so in her first minute of San Narciso, a revelation also trembled just past the threshold of her understanding.

This summer I had my first encounter with Thomas Pynchon, a writer who, according to the New York Times, writes in the tradition ‘of Melville, Conrad, and Joyce, of Faulkner, Nathanael West, and Nabokov‘. So, not intimidating at all.

I like to think I was smart; given the pressure of expectation suggested by the list of names above, I decided to begin my Pynchon reading with ‘The Crying of Lot 49’. To those who really want to get to grips with this intimidating American author, I do recommend starting light, and ‘The Crying of Lot 49’ is really a novella at only 160 pages long. To put this into context, Pynchon’s most famous major novels are ‘V’, which makes up for its impressively short title with the nearly 500 pages of text the book contains. Then there’s ‘Gravity’s Rainbow’, a literally heavy text at over 900 pages long.

So excited was I at the prospect of a relatively easy read, I forgot to take the title into consideration. That is, I didn’t pause to realise that I had no idea what it meant. Hardly a great start to decoding a Joycean text. The title is confusing, the passive construction, the ambiguity of the word ‘lot.’ My advice to readers is to ignore the title until you get to the last line of the novel at which point it may, possibly, make sense.

And this is kind of the point. The whole book is about a quest for meaning, with the ironic understanding that the ultimate answer may not quite be worth it. The heroine, Oedipa Maas has been named executor of her ex-lover’s will. While the reader tries to untangle what on earth is meant by her name, she’s on her way to San Narciso in an attempt to work through her lover’s insanely convoluted holdings, how these relate to American history and how she herself can deal with death, love and her place in the mad modern world.

The novel is funny, paranoid and densely packed with meaning. At the time, it seemed a bit too ambiguous to be satisfying; in retrospect however, it was rewarding, not least because I now feel like I’m a member of the Pynchon gang. Certainly, I finally understand that there’s more to Californian literature than Steinbeck’s archetypes or hardboiled LA noir. Arguably, I could have learned this from the equally dazed and confused searchings in Emma Cline’s ‘The Girls,’ but some patterns are difficult to decode and some things take a long time to comprehend. I’m sure Pynchon would have agreed.

This entry was posted in Thomas Pynchon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Californian Classic: ‘The Crying of Lot 49’ by Thomas Pynchon (1966)

  1. Interesting. I’ve hesitated about reading Pynchon in the past but it does sound like I should!

  2. Sarah says:

    I have a copy of ‘Gravity’s Rainbow’ on my shelves which I intend to read at some point but it is a daunting prospect! 160 pages of Pynchon does sound rather more appealing, I must admit. 😉

  3. This is on my TBR as my intro to Pynchon too, though unlike you I haven’t actually faced up to it yet. I like your comment re it’s adding a different string to the Ca Steinbeck-hard-boiled bow.

  4. Ste J says:

    I have heard enough about V to need an easier starter and this sounds like it’s it, we all needs reading challenges to make us think, you’ve made this one sound very intriguing.

  5. Izzy says:

    I too am in awe of TP. I don’t know that much about him, except that many people tried reading Gravity and gave up ! I will definitely start with this one, thank you for bringing it to our attention. At the moment, I’m trying to pluck up enough courage to start reading Lanark, by Alasdair Gray. He too has been compared to Joyce and that frightens me !

  6. ashnfinn says:

    What you’ve recommended is the best induction into Pynchon, I read Mason & Dixon next and then GR and V.

  7. Welcome to the gang! Have you read any more since? Inherent Vice has elements of a sequel.

    • Pynchon is high on my list for 2017 reading, but I’m going seasonal with my book choices at the moment- lots of Nordic literature so far and then moving to sunnier climes when I feel I can’t take the cold anymore! I do really plan to read at least one more book by Pynchon over the summer.
      I’m really looking forward to starting Lanark too! So many reading resolutions this year …

Leave a Reply

